Contact us

History of St. John’s Church, Piddinghoe

Built during the early 12th century, our church of St. John the Evangelist stands overlooking the beautiful River Ouse; as it has a unique round tower, one of only three in East Sussex.

The church is built of flint, and the tower has wooden shingles on the octagonal roof.

St John’s was originally a small church without aisles or a chancel. During the 12th century the north wall of the nave was altered, and rounded Norman arches were formed.

Arches were also added on the south side in the Gothic style. Extensive restoration was undertaken in 1882 when the church was showing signs of decay. 

  • The south aisle was replaced, and a new porch built. 
  • Some of the stained-glass windows were given as memorials by relatives and friends of those commemorated. 
  • The Lady Chapel was built at the east end of the north aisle. 
  • Tiles were laid over the stone flagging
  • New pine benches were installed replacing the box pews. 
  • The Chancel was re-roofed
  • A new pulpit, lectern and organ were included in the restoration. 
  • The 13th century font was moved to its present position in the Baptistery.

The church is a Grade 1 listed building due to its special architectural and historic interest.

Entry no: 1238098 Historic England dated 25th August 1965.

Historic England listing